Inderjit’s article hurt MDA-20090610-175013 (please crosscheck)

  • Inderjit’s article hurt MDA-20090610-175013 

Senthil Chengalvarayan of Network 18 discussing apology for Forbes editor Indrajit Gupta’s piece on Mukesh Ambani’s children. In the July 3 edition of Forbes, the following apology was eventually published:

“In our issue dated June 19, 2009 under the heading Self-Reliance, we published a snippet stating that Isha and Akash, children of Mukesh Ambani, would be accompanied by a mini-entourage of three servants when they proceed to Yale for their undergraduate studies. The same piece went on to state and imply that Isha and Akash had not been admitted on merit but that Mukesh Ambani had, by improper means and use of his influence, secure their admission to Yale.

“We had published the report based on information that we had believed to be reliable.

“We have, however, subsequently ascertained and now recognise that there was no foundation to these allegations and we sincererely regret that they were ever made. We are happy to take the earliest opportunity of correcting our error and expressing to Mukesh Ambani and his children Isha and Akash our regret and embarrassment caused to them by publishing the original snippet.

“Similarly we also regret any references that were made to Yale University and its officials in the original snippet.”

*

Smita S has transcribed this in the comment below. Please crosscheck.

4 Responses to “Inderjit’s article hurt MDA-20090610-175013 (please crosscheck)”


  1. 1 Smita Singh November 26, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Inderjit’s article hurt MDA-20090610-175013

    Phone Rings

    Niira Radia – Hello?

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – Haan Niira, Hi Senthil here.

    Niira Radia – Hello?

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – Hi Niira, Senthil here.

    Niira Radia – Hi, hi Senthil, how are you?

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – How are you?

    Niira Radia – I am fine

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – Can I take few minutes?

    Niira Radia – Yeah please, tell

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – Ok, this is regarding the rather unfortunate thing we have with Mukesh and the children..

    Niira Radia – Oh yes, you’ve seen the letter?

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – I have seen the letter, in fact but to be very honest with you, we’ve been working on an apology for the last 3 days. I mean Raghav got me and Harish involved in this and I just, in fact, just this morning I had a meeting with Inderjeet. I mean from our side – clearly – l mean as far as I am concerned and even Raghav is concerned – children are completely out of bounds so we are willing to make a completely uncaveated apology regards.. I mean ..I mean completely uncaveated completely non grudging apology. So we’d in fact, in fact I- I- I’d already written an apology. I’ve just sent it to IJ this morning for..to get his opinion on this, so..ah.. this is, this Is just to tell you that they are working on the apology

    Niira Radia – Hmm

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – And we’ll send it across… as..asap. Now now I now I suppose we have to send it across in the lawyer’s format-

    Niira Radia – No but we’ll aslo need you to put in the print. In print form.

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – Completely completely

    Niira Radia – yeah this this

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – No No This is, this is, this is an apology that we are going to carry in print

    Niira Radia – Senthil let me tell you one thing, what I think what really has hurt them is Inderjeet’s response to my colleague which was you know what say, you know – check your sources, we checked ours. And-

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – no no to me it’s not even a matter of sources, frankly I mean, my line- ok, I can just read out something that I have written to Raghav. I am very clear that we should never have dragged the Ambani children into this.

    Niira Radia – Hmm

    Senthil Chengalvarayan -In fact children should be out of bounds when they enter public life.

    Niira Radia – Hmm

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – Now this, regards there personal and academic credentials we imply that they’d gone to Yale because of this, I –I – we don’t have any record of their academic- their performance but that apart- I don’t think we did the correct thing and the whole episode could be fairly damaging to the psyche of children at that age. So-

    Niira Radia – No-

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – I therefore think that the apology needs to be ungrudging and without any caveats.

    Niira Radia – Haan

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – We need to apologise for our actions because
    it is not correct and not just because it caused distress.

    Niira Radia – hmm

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – No I completely agree with you, I mean there is no question of-

    Niira Radia – But but but Senthil the information itself was wrong na-

    Senthil Chengalvarayan- I-I..yeah-That that to me is secondary, to me we- we overstepped the line by getting in to territory that Is aa..you know..ah,.. that was entirely personal space with children, so that we completely overstepped – it didn’t matter whether we had right information wrong information. We’ll aslo carry, we’ll also completely carry a line saying that it’s inaccurate.

    Niira Radia – If you will like I can tell you one thing for sure, Inderjeet is certainly out of bounds

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – Inderjeet..?

    Niira Radia – Meaning they are just not gonna allow Inderjeet any access at all.

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – No (laughs)

    Niira Radia – I can I can tell you that I mean it’s just out of bounds I think the family is so hurt by it.

    Senthil Chengalvarayan- No I – I – I can I can- understand and I-I-I-I would feel ashamed in fact to meet any of them..so-

    Niira Radia – So will you send me a copy of the apology first or what will you do?

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – Ok what I will do is we’ll get into two loops, one I’ll send you, I will keep you in the loop

    Niira Radia – Aha

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – So I will have our lawyer respond to that notice and I will just send you a-the apology that we are writing

    Niira Radia – Aha

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – And you can also work on a personal level, see what.. whether

    Niira Radia – Ok

    Senthil Chengalvarayan -that is acceptable or whether you want something else.

    Niira Radia – Ok, Will you put it on my email

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – I’ll, I’ll put it. Can I just have your email again?

    Niira Radia – Yes it’s n-double i-r-a

    Senthil Chengalvarayan – N?

    Niira Radia – Double i-r-a. I will just sms to you.

    Senthil Chengalvarayan -O k. Yeah

    Niira Radia – Yeah? I’ll just sms.

  2. 2 Shivam Vij November 26, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Thanks Smita – that’s the fifth tape transcribed! The power of us! We the people!

  3. 3 Smita Singh November 26, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    You are welcome & ‘we the people’ is right on..disgusted just transcribing this grovelling miserable exchange.

  4. 4 Azhar December 2, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Thank You Smita.


Leave a Reply

