Tarun Dass meeting PM on AirIndia-20090708-092726

  • Tarun Dass meeting PM on AirIndia-20090708-092726 

Shahster has transcribed this tape in a comment below.

2 Responses to “Tarun Dass meeting PM on AirIndia-20090708-092726”


  1. 1 Shahster November 29, 2010 at 11:10 am

    (I cant italicize, but i have put Hindi translations in square brackets]

    tring tring…
    female: Sunil, Hi, Listen because i have to quickly rush,Tarun is meeting the Prime Minister
    Sunil: Hmm,
    Female: [That is happening]. Send me pointers for Tarun… on what has been ailing it and what have been the issues including the Unions and all that…
    Sunil: hmm, hmm
    Female:.. and for his own benefit. Basically what looks (on Ratan, na )like [inaudible words] they have success..successfully thrived with conivance of Naresh Goyal and Vijay Mallaya to destroy the airline.
    Sunil: Hmm
    Female: .. and what is the gain and all that..[Tarun understands these things]
    Sunil: Ha, [Okay]
    Female: [So for this benefit], he is meeting him on Saturday..[meeting is confirmed]
    Sunil: [So, I will start today].. You can send somebody on Friday morning
    Female: hmm, Okay, [You do this for sure that, send me a little bit about your background]
    Sunil: (Inaudible words within the conversation)
    Sunil: [His so called C.V. has information on what he has done for Indian Airline]
    Female: I know, I know…
    Female: [All that i will need..] because.i have not used,..you know, with the court case, no time to prepare….hmm?
    Sunil: Ok
    Female: [You will do it, na]?
    Sunil: I will send you a copy of the C.V. where this airline part is written. I will also informally send a note which is slightly longish..
    Female: hmm.. hmm..
    Sunil: but,which, he,, i mean i will prepare a summary of course differently.. but there is one informal note which is wrote when i left the airlines
    Female: Hmm
    Sunil: .. adressed to Ajay Prashad knowing full well that these guys will hound me, [so] i put it all on the (inaudible) what all i tried to do and what all is left to be done..[so] that is slightly longish…you can ignore the (nextures??)…(nextures??) are just this thing…but the body of the note is self explanatory ..that ..that, i will send you for Tarun Das, as well as for Mr. Tata.
    Female: Hmm, haan, Okay
    Sunil:.. and for Mr. Tata separately, I will also send my letter to Cabinet Secretary.
    Female…Haan.. including..how..what are they trying to get him to do is to ratify everything that , he is, that they have done wrong..
    Sunil: Haan. [I will write all that]
    Female: Haan, haan
    Sunil : I will write…
    Female: so i will send somebody to you on Friday
    Sunil : [So, Saturday is when you are saying they are meeting?]
    Female: [Yes., so Friday I will send someone ..na]
    Sunil: [Haan, so send someone on Friday]
    Female: Friday..
    Sunil: It seems i have today and tomorrow. I will start working today afternoon because today morning is our so called state budget and we all are in the assembly .. we will be free by about 230 3 o clock, but i will start working in the afternoon..
    Female:Hmm, [Okay], Great
    Sunil:.. and work tomorrow…I hope they dont call us to the assembly tomorrow for something.. then will have no choice, but I will rig out something quickly.
    Female:Ok, Haan, Ya.
    Female: I am not convinced that Sanjeev Srivastava has not yet told you that he was using some people and all that to get messages..
    Sunil: who?
    Female: Sanjeev Srivastava,, you remember?
    Sunil: He talked to me.. haan, thats last he talked to me which i told you.
    Female:no no no, you remember when earlier he had indicated that he was talking to the family and all that…i…hah, in current contacts i would not believe it.
    Sunil: haan
    Female: I am also told that he has become persona-non grata there right now.
    Sunil: Maybe..Whatever that evening he told me , I told you…
    Female: [No, I am not talking about that ]
    Sunil: (inaudible crosstalk)
    Female: [I am not talking about that ]
    Sunil: (inaudible crosstalk)
    Female: [I am talking about you..when he had raised your issue with these people]
    Sunil: [With which people?]
    sUNIL: No no, I never even asked Sanjeev Srivastava for that..
    Female: That is ages ago
    Never not even once, [I have talked to Sanjeev srivastava about myself] never
    Female: You told me once
    Sunil: No no, not Sanjeev Srivastava at all. I think there is a mistake here..[I talked to Sanjeev Srivastava after 6-8 months]..
    [and even in the past I have never told Sanjeev Srivastava to talk about me]…
    Female: Hmm, haan
    Sunil: …I know he is a loud mouth in some senses and he is not reliable
    Female: Hmm, Haan
    Sunil: Never.. Sanjeeva Srivastava.. Never
    Female: OK..[you send me all that stuff]
    Sunil: [that ] .. last he talked about that phone call and all and that I told you about
    Female: Hmmm
    Sunil: …that we talked more than once..
    Female: Haan..
    Sunil : [I havent told Sanjeev Srivastava to talk about me till today].. not even once in the last 10 years
    Female: Haan.. [then okay]..then you send it na,, i will send someone on friday.
    Sunil: [haan send someone on Friday]
    Female: OK OK, Bye Bye
    Sunil: [ I will still confirm with you on Thursday] [ and in the day can you get me jangs sms…
    Female: [Oh yes, I will ask somebody,,,i am sorry, i am so caught up]
    Sunil: [Jang and pradeep paijals]
    Female: will do, will do
    Sunil: and if possible just send me this address of Mr. Das also. I will send him a card with a letter.. thats all
    Female: will do, All three..
    Sunil: Okay, thank you
    Female: Bye
    Sunil: thank you, Right…

  2. 2 Krishnakumar Sankaran December 7, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Redid the transcript with the Hindi bits with translations in brackets.

    Sunil: Hello
    Nira: Sunil, hi. Listen, because I have to quickly rush. Woh Tarun mil raha hai Prime Minister ko [ Tarun is meeting the Prime Minister )
    Sunil: Hmm
    Nira: Wo toh ho raha hai. Mujhe tumhara na, uske liye pointers bhej do Tarun ke liye …ki ( That is happening. I need you to send your pointers for Tarun regarding) what has been ailing it and what have been the issues including the Unions and all that…
    Sunil: Haan ( Yes)
    Nira: And for his own benefit. Basically what you sent Ratan, na?
    Sunil: Haan
    Nira: Ki how they have successively, successfully thrived with connivance of Naresh Goyal and Vijay Mallya to destroy the airline.
    Sunil: Haan
    Nira: Haan? And what is the gain and all that. Woh Tarun sab samajhta hai yeh baat( Tarun understands all this.).
    Sunil: Haan, theek hai. ( Yes, alright.)
    Nira: So uski benefit ke liye (For his benefit ) he is meeting him on Saturday. Meeting confirmed hai.
    Sunil: Haan toh main toh aaj shuru kar doonga, na? ( I’ll start working on this today, no?)
    Nira: Hmm?
    Sunil: You can send somebody in Friday morning
    Nira: Ok, tum yeh zaroor kar dena…tumhara thoda sa background, thoda sa tumhara background mujhe de dena, please, haan? ( You surely do this. Also send me something of your background please, will you?)
    Sunil:(inaudible) jo aapka so-called CV hai, usme likha hua hai Indian Airline ka kya kiya tha ( In that so-called CV of yours, it is written, what was done with Indian Airline)
    Nira: I know, I know, I know. Haan, woh sab mujhe chahiye hoga because maine( Ya, I will be needing all of it because I…)…I’ve not used uh…you know, with the court case, no time to prepare
    Sunil: Hmm.
    Nira: Haan?
    Sunil: OK
    Nira: Kar doge na? ( You will do it, no?)
    Sunil: Haan, haan. Main, I’ll send you a copy of the CV in which this Airline part is written.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: I will also informally send one note which is slightly long-ish.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: But, which is, I mean I’ll prepare a summary of course definitely.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: But there is one informal note which I wrote when I left the airline.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: Addressed to Ajay Prasad, knowing full well that these guys will hound me.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: Toh I put it all on record, that what all I tried to do and what all is left to be done.
    Nira: Haan.
    Sunil: Toh that is slightly long-ish. You can ignore the annexures. The annexures are just this thing. But the body of the note is self-explanatory.
    Nira: Haan, haan.
    Sunil: That, that…that I will send you for Mr. Tarun Dass as well as for Mr. Tata
    Nira: OK
    Sunil: And for Mr. Tata, separately.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: I will also send my letter to Cabinet Secretary
    Nira: Including how, what is it trying to get him to do is to ratify everything that he, that they’ve done wrong.
    Sunil: Haan, woh mein likh doonga sara. ( Yes, I will write it all down.)
    Nira: Haan, theek hai?( Ya, ok? ) So I will send somebody to you on Friday, ok?
    Sunil: Toh ye, Saturday ko aap keh rahe hai na mil raha hai woh…mil rahe hain ( You’re saying they are meeting on Saturday)
    Nira: Haan, toh Friday bhejungi na? ( Yes, so I’ll send someone on Friday, no? )
    Sunil: Toh Friday ko aap bhej dena. ( Send someone on Friday.)
    Nira: Friday main…
    Sunil: [interjects] It seems I have today and tomorrow.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: I will start working today afternoon because today morning is our so-called state budget and we are all in the assembly
    Nira: OK
    Sunil: We’ll be free by about 2:30, 3 o’clock.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: But I’ll start working in the afternoon.
    Nira: Theek hai, great…ok
    Sunil: And work till, work tomorrow. I hope they do not call us to the assembly tomorrow for something.
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: Then we have no choice. But I’ll…I’ll rig out something very quickly.
    Nira: Ya, I’m not convinced that Sanjeev Shrivastav has…not that he was using some people and all to get messages
    Sunil: Who?
    Nira: Sanjeev Shrivastav, you remember?
    Sunil: He talked me…huh, that’s the last he talked to me, I told you.
    Nira: No, no, no, no. You remember when earlier he had indicated that he was talking to the family and all that.
    Sunil: Hmm.
    Nira: I…in the current context, I would not believe it.
    Sunil: Hmm
    Nira: I’m also told he has become persona non grata there right now
    Sunil: Maybe…whatever that evening he told me, I told you. The only thing…
    Nira: Nahin, uski baat mein nahin kar rahi, uski baat mein nahin kar rahi. Mein tumhari baat kar rahi hoon jab usne tumhari issue raise kee thee na in logon ke saath. ( No, I’m not talking about that, I’m not talking about that. I’m talking about you and that time he raised your issue with these people)
    Sunil: Kin logon ke saath? (With who>) No no, I never told that…I never even asked Shrivastav for that.
    Nira: That was ages ago.
    Sunil: Never, not even once. Shri Shrivastav se maine apne baare mein kabhi baat hee na kee. ( I never spoke with Shri Shrivastav about myself. )Never.
    Nira: You told me once.
    Sunil: No, no, no, no. Not Shri Shrivastav at all. I think there is a mistake here. Shri Shrivastav se toh meri baat hee us din hui hai, che mahine, aath mahine baad. Aur maine pehle bhi past mein kabhi Shri Shrivastav se kaha nahin ki mere baare mein bat kare. ( I spoke with Shti Shrivastav then, after 6 or 8 months. And in the past, I never asked Shri Shrivastav to speak about me.)
    Nira: Uh huh.
    Sunil: I know he is loud-mouthed in some senses and he is not reliable. Never, Shri Shrivastav, never.
    Nira: Ok, tum bhej dena ye at least. ( Ok, you send this over at least.)
    Sunil: Woh toh the last he talked about that…that phone call and all that. That I told you, no?
    Nira: Uh huh.
    Sunil: That we talked more than once.
    Nira: Haan.
    Sunil: As I was telling you, Shrivastav se aaj tak bhi baat nahin kee mere baare mein kisi se baat karne ( To date, I never asked Shrivastav to speak on my behalf with anyone.)
    Nira: Haan
    Sunil: Not even, not even once in the last ten years.
    Nira: Toh theek hai. You’ll send it, na? I’ll send somebody on Friday
    Sunil: Haan, Friday ko bhej dena. ( Yes, send him on Friday.)
    Nira: Haan ok, ok bye.
    Sunil: Main aapko phir bhi Thursday ko confirm kar doonga. ( I’ll still confirm with you on Thursday.)
    Nira: Haan, haan.
    Sunil: Aur mujhe aaj din mein Jang ka ek baar sms…(Can you get me Jang’s sms today?)
    Nira: Woh, haan haan haan. Main Cecilia ko kah ke bol doongi. ( Yes, yes, yes. I’ll talk to Cecilia about it.)Sorry I’m so caught up in…
    Sunil: Jang ka aur Pradeep Baijal ka.( For Jang and Pradeep Baijal)
    Nira: Will do, will do.
    Sunil: And if possible, just send me this address of Mr. Das also. I’ll send him a card with a letter, that’s all.
    Nira: Will do. All three.
    Sunil: Ok, thank you, thank you.
    Nira: Ok, bye.


Leave a Reply

